coconut toffee oatmeal cookies.

i hope everyone had a wonderful Easter! mine was full of this. and some of these. and these.

some of you may have leftover coconut from Easter recipes. i have the perfect use.

trust me. you’ll thank me later.

i’m not sure what i would do without the vast cookie recipe list over at Averie Cooks. have you checked it out yet? i’ve made a handful of Averie’s cookies and each one is out.of.this.world!

i practically drooled over the name coconut toffee oatmeal cookie, so i knew i had to make them. stat.

coconut flakes, heath bar bits, and chocolate chips come together to create an incredibly flavorful, chewy cookie. Averie notes that the coconut flavor is definitely there, but not overpowering in the slightest.  and she’s definitely spot-on! i love coconut, but i know many of you may not.

the coconut flavor isn’t overwhelming the cookie at all! it’s just right.

crispy edges. soft, gooey center. extra chewy. meets my cookie criteria!

i think i found my new favorite cookie.

coconut toffee oatmeal cookies

(categorized under cookies)
adapted from Averie Cooks
makes about 2 dozen cookies
  • 1 stick (1/2 cup) butter, softened to room temp
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 cup shredded coconut (sweetened or unsweetened)
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole oats
  • 1/2 cup toffee bits (Heath Bar Bits ‘o Brickle baking pieces)
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips

DIRECTIONS

  1. In a medium-sized bowl, cream the butter and sugars.  Beat in the egg.
  2. Slowly stir in the vanilla, baking soda, coconut, flour, and oats.
  3. Gently fold in the toffee bits and chocolate chips.
  4. Chill dough for at least 30 minutes (you want the dough to be COLD at all times, so keep in the fridge between batches).
  5. Preheat oven to 350F.  Drop by tablespoon-fuls onto ungreased cookie sheet or silpat.  Bake for 11-13 minutes.  Allow to cool on baking sheet for 2 minutes and transfer to cookie rack.  Enjoy!

*i like my cookies VERY soft. these had to cool down quite a bit on the cooling rack until they were firm.  be careful removing them from the baking sheet or else they may fall apart.

_____________________

ps: you may also enjoy these cookies too!

butterscotch toffee chocolate fudge cookies

butterscotch toffee chocolate fudge cookies

chewy oatmeal m&m cookies

oatmeal m&m cookies

brown butter toffee chocolate chip cookies

brown butter toffee chocolate chip cookies

Comments

  1. Thanks for the glowing field report! Glad you loved them and hope you keep making things…I always love to see my recipes made by others b/c it gives me a good idea that they work for one thing…LOL…but also love seeing people get inspired and just get baking 🙂

    • You’re welcome Averie! I recently made your oreo brownies w/ white buttercream frosting – but with a few shortcuts. LOVE all your inspiring recipes 🙂

  2. This recipe looks awesome and your photos are beautiful! I would love for you to link it up to my Recipe Party at The Sweet Spot.

  3. cookingactress says:

    These cookies look perfect. Absolutely perfect.

  4. Love Averie’s recipes!! This looks like such a good cookie – I’m a sucker for anything oatmeal or coconut!

  5. Oh my goodness these look amazing! Love your blog and I am your newest follower. xo

  6. These cookies look stunning – full of everything one could ever desire in a cookie 😀
    Yum!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  7. I am a fan! Of all those things! The combo sounds super scrumptious! I am finding a new appreciation for cookies. Wish I lived next door. I could be your official taste tester.

  8. Oh my goodness, those look amazing!

  9. oh sally, this looks lovely! i love the combination of ingredients that you used in here. i am so addicted to toffee!

  10. These look so yummy! I want to try all of your recipes! I made the peep smores over the Easter weekend, they were delicious! Such a cute idea 🙂

  11. hum…this my be the answer to my coconut phobia… 😉

  12. Not sure how I missed these crispy gems of flavor before! I am always looking for new cookie recipes due to my monthly donations. Also, I will need to pop on over to Averies site. Delicious links here too. Thanks for this post Sally!

  13. absolutely amazing as always! 🙂

  14. oh yum, I love coconut but never work with it for some reason! Must try

  15. good gravy! those all look delicious!! i’ve been feeling in the cookie making mood recently, so I may have to give some of these a try 🙂

  16. These sound so good! What a treasure trove of recipes!

Trackbacks

  1. […] coconut toffee oatmeal cookies coconut toffee oatmeal cookies Share this:EmailFacebookPinterestTwitterLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Filed Under: cookies · Tagged: chocolate chips, cookies, toffee « andes mint chocolate chip cookies. caramel apple peanut butter oatmeal bars. » […]

Leave a Reply

