how to: make homemade peanut butter.

hey everyone! i’m looking for some ideas for new recipes using peanut butter.  leave some suggestions or links with your favorite ones!

ok, let me show ya how peanut butter is done.

  • in less than 4 minutes.
  • with 1 ingredient.

if you’ve been reading for awhile, you already know that i have a slight obsession with peanut butter:

*click on the picture to get the recipe

      

i tried to see how long i could go without eating it a few weeks ago. i lasted less than 4 hours. who was i kidding?

does anyone else do that?!  ↑

for all my recipes, i typically use Jif Creamy. i grew up on Jif.  it’s the bestest.  recently, however, i’ve been making my own peanut butter.

so good. so simple.  in less than 4 minutes, and with only ONE ingredient, you can have homemade peanut butter free of added oil, salt, sugar, and preservatives.  the recipe is so simple, i feel bad typing it out for you…


honey roasted peanut butter

makes about 1 cup peanut butter

  • 1.5 cups honey roasted peanuts (you may also used plain roasted peanuts, salted or unsalted according to your taste)

DIRECTIONS

  1. Add  peanuts in the bowl of a food processor with a blade.  Process until the nuts go from coursely chopped to finely ground.  Stop and scrape down the sides as needed. Process again until the peanuts resemble a thick and relatively smooth peanut butter.

* if you have a good food processor like mine, this whole process will only take about 4 minutes.

* you may add 1-2 tablespoons of a neutral tasting oil (canola oil, peanut oil) during the blending process to make the peanut butter is extra creamy.  This depends on your taste preference and/or if you are concerned with calories.

_________________________

ps – i can’t wait to use my honey roasted peanut butter in these recipes 😉

chocolate peanut butter pretzel bites

chocolate peanut butter pretzel bites

caramel apple peanut butter oatmeal bars

caramel apple peanut butter oatmeal bars

 soft baked mini peanut butter chocolate swirl cookies

soft baked mini peanut butter chocolate swirl cookies

Comments

  1. The Urban Ninja says:

    OMG! I’m going to dive on peanut butter tonight! Love your blog Sally! Keep baking! 🙂 *

  2. Sweet Princess Style says:

    I think we have the same blender!
    This homemade peanut butter is a great idea. It will definitely make me feel less self conscious 🙂
    Thanks for sharing!

  3. omg …you can make your own.. !??!! unfortunatly i don’t think the blade of my mixer would survive this 😦
    I just ADORE peanut butter! being french, i discovered it quite “late” thanks to the movie “meet joe black” in which Brad Pitt tastes it for the first time. If Brad Pitt was doing it, I had to too 😉
    I try not to buy too much of it though…so i don’t carry it around in my pocket with a spoon…
    But when i do I love to do the chocolate cupcakes with a peanut butter topping. Pretty classic.
    But i’m pretty sure anything covered in peanut butter would taste delicious !

    • great movie! and i LOVE your idea of peanut butter covered chocolate cupcakes.. nothing’s better than peanut butter & chocolate!

  4. bigspender90 says:

    I’m a bit of a weird one when it comes to dipping things in peanut butter, for example love dipping carrot or red pepper in it. Smarties are also amazing with a cheeky scoop of Mr Peanut on top, tastes just like a Reece’s piece!Love your peanut butter recipes 🙂

  5. I can’t wait to try this 🙂 I love this Bakerella recipe. Mmm Mmm mmm! They are such a perfect blend of peanut butter and chocolate.
    http://www.bakerella.com/comfort-in-cookies/

    • ok Lizzie, i’m in love with this cookie recipe. i’m actually saving the recipe right now because i’m totally making them as soon as possible. yum! THANK YOU!

  6. I love that in four minutes you have this glorious PB to show for the time spent! Best use of 4 mins ever!

  7. This is awesome! what a great idea.

  8. Now I need to try making this AND all your other PB creations 😀
    How decadent!

    Happy Easter!
    Choc Chip Uru

  9. Love the idea of using honey roasted peanuts to make peanut butter! YUMM!! I don’t think I’d be able to stop eating that stuff. Recently I made Pecan Butter which is delicious!! Here’s the link: http://digintobooks.wordpress.com/2012/04/02/pecan-pie-butter/.

  10. Jennifer says:

    I too add chocolate to my peanut nutter… sometimes I even take a dark chocolate bar and dip it straight into the pb jar. Yum! Thank you for sharing!

  11. Jennifer says:

    Ahhh butter! Not nutter… But nutter butters on the other hand are good too.

  12. I love to make my own peanut butter, almond butter and cashew butter when I go to gourmet grocery stores that have the machines that grind the nuts for you. Fun, fresh and delicious!

  13. You should make peanut butter cups! Or peanut butter pie. Or peanut butter cookies. Heehee. I love peanut butter too! I go through stages where I can’t get enough and then I don’t eat it for a few days then I can’t get enough again.

    • YES Reeni. i should make your peanut buter cup pie. it’s definitely on my recipe bucket list! god knows if i can make it look as pretty as the original though 🙂

  14. Excellent post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed! Very useful information specifically the remaining part 🙂 I take care of such info much. I used to be looking for this particular information for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

  15. Wow – I never knew it was that simple. I’m definitely going to give this a try. your peanut recipes look fab!

  16. just saw this on FG! congrats!

    BTW I dont get comment replies from you unless I come back and actually check your site. If I check the notify box, I get comments/comment replies from everyone.

    • Averie, thanks for letting me know. I had NO idea my commenters wouldn’t be receiving my replies unless they visited my site. You are so helpful! I just changed the settings, so hopefully you received this via email. 🙂

  17. I have made this twice in two days! The first time I used Trader Joe’s honey roasted peanuts and the peanut butter was WAY better than the second time when I used Target brand. Still delicious but I recommend high quality nuts!

    • VERY good to know! i’ve only used higher quality nuts when i’ve made the peanut butter and now i’ll remember that’s the way to go.

Trackbacks

  1. […] cup honey roasted peanut butter (or regular creamy peanut […]

Leave a Reply

