jellybean sugar cookies.

need a last minute easter treat?


you’ve come to the right place. these jellybean sugar cookies are quite possibly the easiest cookies i’ve ever made. even easier than my chewy butterfinger cookies.

chewy butterfinger cookies

i didn’t think it got much easier than those!

while you may use regular vanilla extract in these cookies, i kicked it up a notch using something i recently won from Averie’s giveaway.

i won three bakery emulsions from LorAnn Oils. what is a bakery “emulsion” you ask? i had no idea either, until i received them and researched the LorAnn Oils website.  emulsions are water-based, gluten free, and sugar free alternative to extracts.  they are alcohol free, meaning they won’t “bake out” when baked in heat.  the website offers a slew of different flavors. i won almond, butter vanilla, and princess cake & cookie.  i could not be more excited about my bakery emulsions! the flavor it adds to your baked goods is unreal. you’ll have people wondering what your “secret ingredient” is!

to enhance my jellybean sugar cookies with a little something extra, i used the butter vanilla emulsion.  the result is an amazingly luscious, soft, and buttery cookie with a hint of vanilla.  of course, you may use regular vanilla extract in place of the baking emulsion as well.

these cookies are made in only 1 bowl (i love one bowl cookies!) and take less than 20 minutes. 10 minute prep time, 10 minute bake time.  does it get any better?


jellybean sugar cookies

(categorized under cookies)
adapted from peanut butter & peppers

makes 24-30 small cookies

  • 4 tbsp (1/4 cup) butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract (i used LorAnn Oils butter vanilla baking emulsion, as noted above)
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 bag jellybeans (you will have some leftover)

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. In a medium bowl using a hand-held mixer or stand alone mixer, cream the butter and sugar together.  Beat in egg yolk, vanilla, baking powder, and salt. Add flour, and mix until a dough forms.
  3. Roll dough in teaspoon size balls and bake for 10-11 minutes on an ungreased baking sheet (or silpat).  *Do NOT let cookies brown.
  4. While cookies are cooling, gently press a jellybean into the center. Be careful, as pressing too hard will crack the cookie.  Allow to cool completely and enjoy!
_____________________

ps: i think you’ll enjoy these sweet eats too! 😉

peanut butter rolo cookies

peanut butter rolo cookies

chocolate dipped brownies

chocolate dipped brownies

peeps s’mores/chocolate dipped peeps

peeps smores / chocolate dipped peeps

this post is featured on:
Lil\'Luna

Comments

  1. The level of cuteness in these cookies is about as unreal as I imagine the taste is! These would go over so well at a party! Too cute.

  2. Sally these look so good! Thank you for blogging about your LorAnn emulsions and I am glad you’ve put them to use. I am just in love with them.

    And these cookies are just gorgeous. Love the bright colored jelly beans against the white cookies…so pretty. Perfect for spring!

    • Thank you for the opportunity to bake with the emulsions, Averie! i’m now obsessed, like you! i can’t wait to use my other two.

  3. madebymim says:

    How yummy they look! Your photos are amazing! And you must be a mind reader as i have just bought some jelly beans for My daughter for Easter as they are her favourite, and was wondering how I could make them look a bit special,thank you, looking forward to your next batch!

  4. I think that some of these treats in an Easter basket are so much more fun than plain old candy (except for Peeps, of course!)

  5. These look great. I’m hungry now!

  6. I think I gained 5 pounds and a major sugar high reading your post – ha! Thanks for sharing – looks delicious!

  7. Though I feel bad admitting it, I absolutely adore jellybeans – they are SO amazing. My favourite cinema snack at the moment. As such, I get the impression that these cookies might just be amazing.

  8. These are over the top adorable for a party (or for me ;))
    So gorgeous!!!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  9. What cute and festive cookies! I love them and the peeps s’mores too! You have the Easter spirit! I need to find mine.

  10. I have recently joined your blog Sally.I am really bad at baking, and all the measuring and all makes me fed up of it.Before i used to pick my favorite assortments from my favourite patisseries and bakeries.But your blogs got me all tempted again to bake.The addiction’s growing…You are marvelous at it!I especially love the colors in your snaps and blog!

    • thank you SO much for the comment! i’m glad i’ve influenced you 🙂 baking takes time, you have to learn from your mistakes.

  11. I am into photography, and I gotta say you have the most gorgeous pictures! It helps I have a major sweet tooth! Thanks for sharing the emulsion oil website. I am addicted to almond extract, so I think I will try the almond emulsion. Thank you!

  12. These are so adorable. I wouldn’t have thought that the jelly beans baked up so nicely, Good to know!

    I am really stuck on my Neilson-Massey Madagascar Bourbon Vanilla. But, should I ever shy away, I will definitely try these emulsions, they sound fabulous.

    • Hi Donna! i can’t express enough how amazing these emulsions are. Also, the jellybeans are pressed into the cookie AFTER they are baked. Thanks for stopping by, as always! 🙂

  13. I am not particularly a fan of jelly beans but they do look cute. And I enjoy your peeps s’mores.

  14. I love the bright colors of the jellybeans 🙂 Also, those chocolate dipped brownies seem particularly evil considering it isn’t even lunchtime here yet…

Leave a Reply

