strawberry banana muffins.

*editted to add: a BIG thanks to Jamie, a blog follower, for calculating the calorie count on these.  these fat free muffins are only 90 calories each! 🙂

let me show you how muffins are done.

ooey, gooey strawberry banana muffins that are…. wait for it…. FAT FREE.

yes. 100% fat free. what’s my secret, you ask? mashed bananas, applesauce, and fresh sweet strawberries.

i got this recipe idea from one of my favorite bloggers, Averie over @ Averie Cooks.  Averie’s a baking genius. her website is PACKED with several droolworthy cookies, cakes, breads, entrees, and my recent favorite: Oreo Cookie Stuffed Brownies with Vanilla Buttercream Frosting. need i say more?anyway, Averie’s strawberry banana bread looked amazing, so i added it to my to-bake list. so rich, so moist, and so photogenic! check out her post for some amazing photos.

i made a few changes to her recipe, though.  first, i turned her bread recipe into muffins.  simply because i wanted some portion control (which didn’t help at all since i ate 3 straight out of the oven….) i also reduced the sugar by 1/4 cup and used apple sauce in lieu of oil, making these babies completely fat free.  i’m not even sure how something fat free could taste so… creamy (?) but these totally do. i don’t even know how muffins can be creamy in the first place. these muffins are a miracle. make them now.

strawberry banana muffins

(categorized under granola & healthy stuff)

makes 1 dozen muffins

  •  1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1/4 cup light brown sugar, packed
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 medium banana, divided (mash 1/2 and slice the other half into very thin slices)
  • 1/4 cup apple sauce
  • 1 egg white, beaten
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup diced strawberries

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 350F degrees. Spray muffin tray with cooking spray. Set aside.
  2. In a large bowl, stir to combine the flour, sugars, baking soda, & cinnamon.
  3. Slice the banana in half and mash 1st half with a fork and cut 2nd half into thin slices (set these aside). Add the mashed banana to the dry ingredients and stir.
  4. Add the applesauce, beaten egg white, vanilla and stir until *just* combined. Do NOT overmix.
  5. Gently fold in the strawberries and banana slices. Pour batter into muffin tray, filling about 2/3 of the way up. Bake for 15 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.  Enjoy!
*baking times may vary. i baked mine for about 14 minutes and they were incredibly soft and almost gooey in the centers… just the way i like ’em!
_____________________

ps- i think you’ll enjoy these healthy goodies too 😉

single serving chocolate chip muffin

single serving chocolate chip muffin

 peanut butter banana chocolate chip oatmeal bars

peanut butter banana chocolate chip oatmeal bars

Comments

  1. They look delish! Glad my recipe worked for you.

    And no oil whatsever…that’s great that it worked! I always worry when cooking with zero fat, no butter/no oil, that it won’t stick together well and will get too crumbly OR will stick to the muffin pan/bread pan. But you pulled it off! YUM!

    • thank you, Averie! I was a tad nervous how they’d turn out too, but they ended up being SO insanely moist and they taste exactly how you describe your version with fat. i was VERY pleasantly surprised. i also baked up a version of your oreo stuffed brownies w/ vanilla buttercream this weekend. can’t wait to share! and yes, i AM your biggest fan.

  2. I have awarded you for your great blog
    Congrats!
    http://sugarcravingbaker.wordpress.com/

  3. How could I not love these! The combo of strawberry and banana is so yummy! Plus they’re healthy so I can eat more of them without worrying about my muffin top.

  4. Okay wow, I JUST made this same recipe over the weekend, in bread form though. Great minds think alike.

    And I love that you made it into muffins. They’re so much more fun to eat! 🙂

  5. This really look delicious and healthy. Thanks for sharing!

  6. These muffins are perfection – natural sweetener and beautiful flavours 😀
    Love them!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  7. They don’t sound like my cup of tea – so to speak – but I bet they’re quite tasty….

  8. These look amazing too!
    I am falling in love with your blog.

  9. Okay, I had to print these out as soon as I saw them!! My friend is going to be very happy when I make these for him!!!

  10. Just used myfitnesspal.com to calculate the recipe. These are about 90 calories each! Yay!!

  11. So I made these muffins yesterday after seeing them on your blog and holy moly, they were delicious. I had just gotten a big thing of strawberries the other day at Costco and this recipe was definitely an awesome way to use some of them up. Thanks so much for the great idea! I love that they’re totally fat free but still incrediby moist 🙂

  12. So I ended up with both strawberries and bananas that needed to be used, lucky for me you posted this recipe and my problem was solved. Between the apple sauce, bananas and strawberries, I also got the ‘gooey’ factor, totally awesome.
    Thanks for posting it, I will defiantly be re-blogging this 🙂

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

